My Writing Process — Blog Tour


meRecently, talented writer and friend, Jennifer M. Hartsock (www.jennifermhartsock.wordpress.com), invited me to be a part of a blog tour involving four questions based on my writing process.

What am I working on?
My current project is Chivalry’s Code, the second novel in the Rogue series. It’s exciting to reunite with my characters and witness how my writing style has changed since The Royal Rogue first released two years ago. It’s a constant growing process, not just for me, but for my characters.
Chivalry’s Code is taking place almost a decade after The Royal Rogue ended, and realizing the impact time has had on each character has been an interesting journey. The rogue’s soul is tainted, Milo’s reverted back to his “street savvy” ways, and Levee has found her courage in… unexpected places. Right now I am in the first editing stage of the book which is projected to release in June or July of this year, and I look forward to seeing how Rogue fans respond to a new and darker setting.

The rogue and his companion.

The rogue and his companion.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?
The Rogue series breaks away from the paranormal, werewolf, vampire trend and introduces a brand new race known as the rahee, or “horse folk”. The thing I love about this series is that it’s fantasy, but it constantly addresses the human condition. Despite being a fictional people set in a world phenomenally different from our own, the reader can easily connect with the characters’ trials and emotions. There is no “white knight” cliche. Jaycent, Milo, Levee and the gang are real, passionate, imperfect, and they reminds us of ourselves.

Why do I write what I do?
The Rogue series and its characters have been a part of my imagination since I was a little girl. They walked with me through all of my experiences and grew with me as I became an adult. I’ve written a lot of stories and a lot of characters, but this series is special. The characters are a part of me and putting them down on paper is like breathing. These days, I simply can’t help it.

How does my writing process work?
Before I became an author, I worked as a freelance journalist, and that has a heavy influence on the way I plan and write a novel. First off, I’m a deadline Nazi. Every book has a very light, very flexible plot map, and I schedule a due date for every chapter. This helps me put together a rough draft without getting stuck in a rut where I mull over a single page for months on end.

I have had instances where I make it halfway through a novel only to realize it’s headed in the wrong direction. Chivalry’s Code did this, which is why it’s due date was pushed back from last summer to this one. I keep my plot maps vague for this very reason. They have to be able to bend and change at a moments notice or else I’d be back to the drawing board every time a character wandered in a direction I didn’t foresee.

That’s pretty much it. I don’t have a magic formula. It’s a simple setup. Once I have a draft, it goes into editing, then to the beta reading stages. After that, it receives a final, proof edit before being submitted for publishing.

That wraps the end of my role on this fabulous tour! If you have any questions or comments, I would love to hear from you.

Also, keep an eye out for these three writers! They will be featured the week of May 5th answering the same four questions from their perspective. 🙂

sherriberriSherri Williams (http://www.WritetheWhite.wordpress.com)
Sherri is a recent grad of Eastern Kentucky University where she studied English Teaching. Now, with her bachelor’s degree, she continues her pursuit of teaching and an unyielding passion for writing. She has three published pieces thus far: a short story and poem published in the EKU Aurora Online Journal 2011, and another short story for the EKU Aurora 2012 hard copy.

Sherri writes a variety of genres including YA, fantasy, supernatural, and romance.

One thought on “My Writing Process — Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

