Newest Work in Progress


Remember in February when I said I started painting again?

I think I said it then, but I’ll say it again: I’ve never considered myself a painter. I prefer pencils, and occasionally chalk pastels, but acrylics never came naturally to me. In high school and university art classes, I could never grasp the “blending” concept. My layers were stiff and awkward, and the colors never turned out the way they should.

So most of my canvas work typically is a result of mixed media. Take “Sea Horse” for example.The background was acrylic paint, but the focal pointโ€”Diego (from The Royal Rogue)โ€”was drawn in Sharpie.

sea_horse_by_levee-d5wako9

However, with this newest piece, I’ve found my muse had different plans. As I began to sketch out the idea on canvas, I found myself painting. And for some reason, out of nowhere… it clicked.

paint wip

Obviously, this is still a work in progress and I still consider myself a novice to say the least. But it’s exciting to try new things and actually see them work!

How about you guys? Have you ever found yourself doing something you didn’t think you could do?

7 thoughts on “Newest Work in Progress

  1. Woww, I didn’t know you was that good… keep going, one day you’ll be able to illustrate your novels… with this “extra touch” you make the potential readere quite curious! Lovely day to you… :-)claudine

Leave a Reply

