Living in the Moment


“I’m letting myself off the hook for things I’ve done.
I let my past go past
And now I’m having more fun.
I’m letting go of the thoughts
that do not make me strong,
and I believe this way can be the same for everyone.”
– “Living in the Moment” by Jason Mraz

I’m only 25, but I’ve spent most of my life working toward… well, having a life.

shore front banner

So many of us know what that’s like. More so today than I think in the last few generations. We don’t live in a simple world anymore. In fact, I feel we live in a world where simplicity is a commodity we have to fight for.

We bear jobs that don’t pay enough. Loans put us in debt before we even get started in life. Bills never come late. Stress piles on from expectations we’re not sure we can fulfill. The day jobs follow us home. The cell phones never stop binging, and ringing, and demanding our attention.

Sometimes it feels like there’s not enough time in a day to get caught up.

That’s when I stopped.

I don’t make much. I don’t know what next month brings. I have countless things I could stress about. It won’t change anything though… so I let it go.

Yes, I plan ahead. I have goals and I find ways to execute them. But I don’t let my goals and the “what if’s” distract me from here and now. I have a man who loves me. The place I call home feels like paradise. I am healthy. I am alive… God, I am so alive! So if tomorrow never comesβ€”there are no guarantees in lifeβ€”I’m going to revel in these moments.

By the time you guys are reading this, Charming and I will be making our way home from a week long road trip. One my traveling buddy, Pikachu, will have documented on my Facebook page. I hope you’ll join the journey with us. But today is about you.

Tell me about your best moment this week.

How are you living your life?

-Elli

4 thoughts on “Living in the Moment

  1. Liz! You never cease to amaze me. Your thoughts and writing are so graceful and positive! I miss seeing you here in NC but I know how happy you are in FL and that makes me happy for you! My moment this week…. Well does it count when you DON’T slap the “stupid” out of someone when you really WANTED to !!!! LOL !!!!

  2. Love this! Sometimes I look around and wonder how my life got so serious, then I remember it’s only as I perceive it to be. I think we fill our days with so much gunk we forget that we were put here to enjoy our lives. Slowing down is a lifeskill I’m still trying to master πŸ™‚ Thanks for the encouragement and the reminders!

    • Honestly, I’m still trying to master it, too. It’s so easy to get caught up in life. I constantly have to stop and remind myself of what’s important and what’s not. Thanks for sharing, Holly! I hope your week is going well. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

