The Difference Between Fathers and Daddys


Facebook warmed my heart this morning.

I spent a good long while just scrolling through my news feed as post after post mentioned fathers, father figures, and mothers who proudly served double duty, were recognized by my friends. The wealth of voices was overwhelming.

Being a parent is one of the most important and honorable roles we could ever be bestowed in this life. If you don’t believe me, turn to the next person you see and ask them about their parents. You won’t find an indifferent response. Good or bad, parents leave an impression.

I’ve been blessed with an amazing set of parents. My daddy is irreplaceable. Every letter of encouragement; every laugh; every moment  of tough love, and raw, heart baring conversation helped make me the woman I am today.

Because of him, I leave my house every day with the question echoing in the back of my head, “Remember who you belong to.”

Because of him, I never gave up on my dream of becoming author.

Because of him, I never stopped getting up when life knocked down.

Because of him, I didn’t quit, even when everything inside of me wants to throw it all away.

Because of him, I am a fighter.

Because of him, I am a believer.

Because of him, I’m still looking up.

And I will always carry that with me.

One thought on “The Difference Between Fathers and Daddys

  1. I really enjoyed this one, Elizabeth…not as emotionally heavy as what I wrote, and that’s a good thing. I’m glad you were able to write it. Your dad must be a really great person if you’re any reflection of his efforts and deeds. I know you’re thankful for him and other good people in your life, but just so I know I said so, always remember that you have people and be glad for it. I’m sure you’ll continue to do well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

