What’s on your plate?


IMAG0076-1

Going back to the basics and eating healthier has changed the way I feel, both mentally and physically.

Lately, Charming and I have been exploring a pretty big change on the food front.

I used to be a vegetarian. It was the healthiest I had ever been, but I broke the cycle after college when my environment change. Social outings seemed to revolve around a table, and most of my house mates didn’t share my taste in food. So I bent the rules a little… then a lot. Though I never drifted too far back into red meat, I now find chicken and fish have become a primary staple in my diet.

I like the taste, but my body doesn’t take well to today’s meat and grease, and as I get older I realize I can’t ignore that fact forever.

So I’ve been leaning toward a vegetarian diet yet again. An itch that’s only been fed by Charming’s newly found interest in organic fruits and vegetables. Lately, we’ve been watching a lot of food documentaries that will scare the carnivore right out of you.

Hungry for Change

Vegucated

Food, Inc.

I am a firm believe in the unity of body, spirit, mind, and nature. We aren’t machines. Our overall health is influenced by the balance between the physical, mental, and spiritual aspects of our lives. Don’t believe me? Do some research. You will find medical journals, spiritual leaders, and science agree that all of these elements play a role in our health.

So what’s it take to make a change? For me, it seems to be an entire lifestyle. My days differ morning to morning. Sometimes I’m off in the evenings. Sometimes I don’t get home until 10pm at night. Sometimes I’m stuck in one place. Sometimes I’m on the move all day. And if you’re a writer, you know when the itch strikes you can be in front of a computer until 5am in the morning.

I knew if I was going to make a transition, I was going to have to change a lot. It started with the little things, like choosing an apple over brownies, or a fresh veggie sandwich over a microwavable lunch. Now I’m researching and compiling recipes to try out. If I like them, they go into a veggie cookbook. I’m also trying to plan more meals ahead. It may take more time, but the result is worth it.

I feel less sluggish and more focused. Lighter. More energetic. And Charming… well, he’s kind of the poster boy of healthy, anyway. I’m just lucky he’s not a meat buff like a lot of men!

What about you guys? Are you a vegetarian? Vegan? Herbivore? Omnivore? Carnivore? (Okay, you get the point).

Do you feel your diet influences the way you feel?

4 thoughts on “What’s on your plate?

  1. Something I learned about food I didn’t know before is that sight is as important as taste, which is why a plate of food that is all one color won’t satisfy you the same way a plate of multi-colored food will (green salad, red lasagna, etc).Some cultures or tribes go as far as to say multi-texture is important as well. Since consuming food is not subject to only taste, but to smell and sight, as well.

    • That’s interesting! 🙂 Now that I think about it, it makes sense, too. I never feel satisfied with my meal if I only have pasta, or salad, or a bowl of soup. Even if it’s heavy or filling, it still doesn’t feel complete without a side of something different…

  2. I’ve been vegan for about a year, but I’ve fallen off the wagon a few times, usually when I’m super busy or out with omnivores. Whenever I do revert back to eating meat and dairy I feel the effects immediately. I lose focus and energy and I just feel generally crappy. So I find myself sticking with it longer and longer each time I recommit, and it gets easier to order a salad when everyone else is ordering steak. Veggies are definitely what our bodies want! Congrats on your commitment to healthy eating!!

    • I’ve noticed it, too! The longer I stay away from meat and greasy foods, the worse they make me feel when I do eat them, and the more I actually *crave* healthy foods. When I first became a vegetarian, I became such a fruit/veggie junkie, and to this day I’d still take grilled veggies over a burger and fries. No hesitation!

      I think our bodies know what they need, and when we get a taste of it, we naturally start to want it more.

Leave a Reply

