Fearing your Potential


“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.” -Marianne Williamson

I have a collection of quotes I keep on my Facebook page that I read over daily. These quotes remind me of who I am and what I believe. This list started with the above quote by Marianne Williamson. I heard it in a movie years ago, then I found it online. I copied it, read it, put it into practice. And you know what I found?

It was true.

The mind is a powerful thing. You’ve heard the phrase “self-fulfilling prophecy”, right? In a nutshell, it describes the concept that if we believe it, so it will be. Self-doubt was a demon I battled for most of my life. I knew I wasn’t perfect. Someone was al

Climb out of the rut of self-doubt. The more you try, the more you'll find you're stronger than you know.

Climb out of the rut of self-doubt. The more you try, the more you’ll find you’re stronger than you know.

ways better than me and I believed I couldn’t do what the people around me could.

(Does this sound familiar?)

Then a couple of years ago I came across a new perspective. One that made me believe that we are all talented, we are all worthy, we all have equal value. I wanted to succeed. I wanted to do what I love and call it a living. And I started to wonder, “Why can’t I?”

The answer?

I wasn’t letting me.

Heck, I wasn’t even trying! I had quit before I even began. So I decided to ignore the voice inside my head telling me I can’t, and decided to give my dreams a shot.

My perspective didn’t change overnight. But every day I would remind myself with quotes, songs, and readin

gs that reminded me of this perspective until I began to believe it. It started with little successes. Finishing a manuscript. Editing a manuscript. Publishing

said manuscript. Then learning how to publish the book and… *deep breath*… selling it.

Guys, I’ve messed up. I’ve flopped, and failed, and made mistakes. But like I’ve said in previous posts, with those experiences came lessons and wisdom that helped me get up, try again, and find a way that works. So don’t be afraid to try. Don’t be afraid to fail.

The only thing standing between you and your potential is your own fear.

So step up.

You’ll be amazed at what you can do.

-Elli

Leave a Reply

