Time to Breathe


I know lately I’ve been posting a lot of “get up and do it” blogs. It’s a strong and blunt message that works. It truly does. But while we’re at it, I want to make another important point.

Breathing is essential.

I don’t mean physically (I think it’s safe to assume that goes without stating).  I mean taking time out of the chaos to relax, calm your mind, and feed your spirit.

This is probably one of the hardest pieces of advice for me. I’m a self-confessed workaholic. When I have a goal set in my head, it’s like running a triathlon. I don’t stop until I get there. That’s why time management has become such an essential skill for me. If I didn’t utilize my time wisely, I’d never have time to breathe.

Time management is the subject for tomorrow’s blog, but for today, I want you to ask yourself when was the last time you stepped away from the work, away from the deadlines, and simply let yourself relax?

If you’ve already set yourself in motion, the goals are on the table. And guess what? They’ll be there when you get back. Perhaps you’re thinking, “But Elli, I don’t have time”. The truth is that you do. You see, after you take time to relax and regenerate, you’ll find you’ll think quicker, move faster, and be far more efficient than someone spread thin and worn ragged.

If it’s been awhile since you’ve taken time to relax, stop right now and pencil in time for you. You not only need it, you deserve it.

After all, we can only hold our breath for so long.

-Elli

Leave a Reply

