The Heart of Dejection


Dejection:
Noun
1. depression or lowness of spirits.

torn jeans

It’s the bottom of the barrel kind of feeling. You hit the ground, skin your knees, scuff your palms. Dejection washes over like a wave, making you question why you even try.

Have you been there?

Of course you have.

Are you there?

If you are, it’s okay. Sit for a moment. Acknowledge it. Embrace it, but only for a moment. Dejection can be a good thing. Healthy, even. It means you care. You aren’t okay with complacent. No, you’re seeking something more, something better.

What led you to this place of dejection? For most people, it’s triggered by failure. We tried, we put our heart into something, yet it didn’t pan out the way we planned. Maybe it’s a career, or a relationship, or a goal. Or perhaps it’s ourselves looking in the mirror and not seeing the person we want to be. There are thousands of reasons for dejection, but only one answer.

That’s getting up and trying again.

Maybe you’re tired. You’re tired, and you’re angry, and you’re thinking, “Elli, none of this is fair. I shouldn’t even be here in the first place.”

Maybe it isn’t fair. Maybe you did everything you were supposed to, but some element outside of your control landed you in the pits and you feel stuck there. So what do you do then?

You get up. You try again.

Look, I get it. I get angry when I think of the unjust causes for the things that have gone wrong in my life. But I turn my anger into rock hard resolve. Then I use that resolve to find the answers necessary to make a change.

You see, friends, when you fight for something—anything—you will take your share of hits. Sometimes you’ll make mistakes and think, “Why was I so stupid?” That’s called learning. Experience takes making mistakes. Or getting duped. Or stumbling upon answers you weren’t even looking for.

People who succeed in life are the ones that keep fighting, even when they’re discouraged. They don’t stop when they’re tired. They don’t back down. They don’t give up.

Where are you now? Are you down on the ground with torn jeans, cuts, and bruises? Get up. Make your scars become trophies; your mistakes become wisdom; your anger become resolve.

Forget words like, “Hopefully” and “try” and “maybe”. Put it in your head that you will.

“I will accomplish ____ today.”

“I will make my deadline.”

“I will apply to ‘X’ amount of jobs today.”

“I will call so-and-so.”

“I will go to the gym.”

“I will ask him/her to coffee.”

Whatever it is you want to achieve, resolve that you will. Then see what happens.

I believe you’ll find you’re stronger than you know.

-Elli

4 thoughts on “The Heart of Dejection

  1. I want you to know that I love you so much as a writer, but so much a friend too, Liz. We’ve known each other for quite a while now, never in person, and yet I feel like I have a very good friend and I hope to meet you someday.

    I’ve been in this rut. I feel like my knees are skinned–bloody. I feel tired. My motivation has been subject to flogging and stripping like it was a bad piece of wallpaper. Your words hit home, like you always manage to accomplish, so thank you from the bottom of my heart for this post.

    • *hugs* You’re a precious friend, Sherri! And it would be wonderful to have the chance to meet you one day!

      I know the place you’re in, but I also know you’ll find your way out of it. You’re a smart girl with loads of talent. Keep pushing forward, Sherri. You’ll find success.

    • Yes! I truly believe power and motivation are inside of all of us. Too many times we get discouraged in life which is why I started writing these kinds of blogs. Sometimes we need a reminder or a little push. Myself included. 😉

Leave a Reply

