Break Out Your Crayon Box! It’s the First Ever Elli Writes Art Contest.


My original cover line art

“Art?” you say, a skeptical brow arched high over your left eye. “I mean, sure, writing is an art. But come on, Elli, this seems like a bit of a stretch.”

Stay with me here, my friends. This is more relevant than it sounds.

A few weeks ago I sent my artist friend Adele an e-mail hoping for some help on designing my book cover. I dabble in art, and have been drawing my characters for nearly a decade. I knew what they looked like, could even translate that into a fairly decent line art. However, when it comes to digital coloring, I’m a bit of a novice. I knew I wanted someone else to do my cover for me, preferably as a collaboration. Adele sounded the call on DeviantART via her gallery, and Sunday I received more offers than I can count from artists all over the webverse…webiverse…uniweb?

The internet.

I never expected such a huge response. I browsed pages and pages e-mails and art galleries, amazed at the work these artists had done.

“How can I possibly choose?” I thought to myself.

Several folks suggested a contest, and I decided to give it a go.

If you’re interested you can find the details via a journal entry on my online art gallery here: http://levee.deviantart.com/journal/44628098/. Anyone can enter, and there are three sets of prizes, including a special edition copy of the book upon its release. This is the last contest of the year (deadline is December 1st, 2011) as I put the final touches on The Royal Rogue.

Best of luck to all who enter! If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment or drop me a line via the Contact tab.

Leave a Reply

