30 Day Photo Challenge: Day 22


A cartoonish portrait of Jaycent, from The Royal Rogue I drew about two years ago.

Β Day 22 – A picture of something you wish you were better at

I’m not putting myself down as an artist so much as I’m setting the bar of ambition higher. Artwork has always taken a backseat to writing with me. It was secondary, usually a tool to help illustrate the first. I’ve frustrated professors and high school teachers countless times because I rarely take the efforts to truly expand myself as an artist. It was always, “She has loads of potential, but very little expenditure.” There is a part of me that wants to take my artwork to a new level though, simply for the sake of bringing more life to the stories I put on paper.

I want to see my characters come to life in a more tangible way. I nearly fell out of my chair when I saw a photo of a life-sized photo of RA Salvatore’s Drizzt. What writer wouldn’t want something like this standing in their foyer, greeting guests as they come in?

In all seriousness, I aim to become a better artist because it gives me a window to tell my stories in ways I can’t always do with words. In several ways, it aids me as an author in envisioning things that otherwise would still be somewhat vague. It’s been a tool I’ve neglected a little more than I should, but one I intend to improve upon.

Leave a Reply

