30 Day Photo Challenge: Day 18



Day 18 – A picture of your biggest insecurity

I already know someone is going to want to smack me for this. But hey, I’m being honest. My biggest insecurity is feeling less than adequate around other women. As a kid, I was the tomboy that didn’t wear makeup until senior year of high school. I know nothing about being fashionable, and more often than not I feel out of place in a room full of people of the same sex. It’s not that I don’t like being around other ladies. I do! I just never had a female role model to teach me the ‘ways of the woman’. For better or for worse, I’m more like one of the guys.

5 thoughts on “30 Day Photo Challenge: Day 18

  1. You know, in man ways you’re lucky. I was also a tomboy, but only until 4th grade when the boy I “loved” fell for the new “pretty” girl. She wore flared jeans, pink shirts, and sketchers. I threw out my sweats and ratty t-shirts (Which I used to go roaming in our forest and wading through the creek) in order to buy the same style of clothing she wore. I tried desperately hard to be included in the popular group. And it was all for a boy. I loved him since 2nd grade, and was finally ready to give up.

    It’s really a shame that kids that young have to feel inadequate. I’ve felt inadequate about several other things since, and it disappoints me.

    • I had a similar experience when I was a kid! I was the girl that was every guy’s friend, but could never be seen as anything more. They always came to me to talk about their girl problems and have fun hanging out. And there was this one… The one that I was head over heels with from 7th grade until I graduated high school, lol. He left me for the prettier freshmen girls when high school rolled around, and I knew I’d never fit that image. Yet that’s what every guy seemed drawn to.

      Luckily, minds broaden after high school. 😉 Eventually I found there were men who found my quirks attractive. But I think every girl faces that unfair comparison, where we look at another and make the mistake of thinking they’re prettier, or better, or more feminine. We forget the beauty in who we are and that our uniqueness is something to valued, not scrutinized.

  2. This is a surprise. I am just wondering how is it insecure? Only if you could enlighten me I’d know =]
    Nice edited photo, is that girl u in the background? behind the mask?

    • Insecure in the fact that it makes me feel less feminine and less adequate around other women. Sometimes In my mind I realize what they have, I never knew, never experienced. I want to join the conversation, and be a part of that interaction, but I feel like I don’t fit in. In those moments, I view them as better; a version of femininity that I won’t ever add up to. So in that respect, it becomes an insecurity.

Leave a Reply

