30 Day Photo Challenge: Day 2


(left to right) Me and Bama about three or four years back.

Day 2: A picture of you and the person you have been closest with the longest

One of my dearest and closest friends I met in art class in eighth grade. I remember we sat next to each other, and she was a lot taller than me and looked like she hated the world. I was scared to say a word when the class first started. But that wall came tumbling down with a dose of quick wit, and a reel of laughs, and we’ve been friends ever since. She moved the summer before high school started, and in that span of time I think we spent more time sleeping over at each other’s houses than we did by ourselves. I cried when she left, thinking how in the world would I ever find a friend like her again?

I haven’t. We still call each other and talk about everything from God and the enigmatic questions of life to the ridiculous shenanigans we always seem to get into, despite being states apart. She stuck by me in the years when I needed a friend the most, and I’ll never stop being thankful for that. There are no walls or boundaries between me and Miss ‘Bama’, and no judgment either. Even if weeks or months go by when neither of us have heard a peep from each other, all it takes is one of us dialing a number and we pick up right where we left off.

In all of these years, not a beat’s been missed, or an ounce of friendship lost. We’ve both changed. We’ve both grown. But we’ve never grown apart. She’s the definition of a best friend.

2 thoughts on “30 Day Photo Challenge: Day 2

  1. Naaa… I’m too old for nice & lovely pictures (I’m coking, actually)…
    Mmmh is interesting! We do have few similarities (day one, I rescued more than 12 cats… yes, they still live with us)… I do speaks with my hands and arms (Italian-way) 🙂
    And yes! Me too I use a lot of 🙂 all the time, I think is pretty and hilarious, better than the LOL
    Okay, will read the next tomorrow…
    Wow… we do have few hours time-zone difference, do we?
    Take care
    :-)Claudine
    http://claudine2007.splinder.com

    • Haha, wow! I bet that’s quite an exciting household. 😉 Rescued pets often make some of the best… Chuck is an amazingly thankful dog, and such a joy to be around.

      It’s definitely an Italian trait!!! My grandmother is Italian, and her side of the family is the exact same way. 🙂 In fact, I think she was probably where I picked up the habit. They’re all very animated. I love it!

Leave a Reply

