Blog: I Will Become an Author


“Let Him Pass” is one of many illustrations I’ve drawn for The Gypsy’s Lore series throughout the past eight years.

I recently took a step back from Elli & Oliver to return to a manuscript I’ve been fiddling with off and on for eight years now. Yeah. Eight years. That fact struck me hard.

Ever since I can remember, I wanted to write books and illustrate them for a living. That was my dream. But such dreams took a backseat when I found myself on a long side road that consumed an overwhelming portion of my life. Perhaps that sounds melodramatic. You may be thinking, “Elli, come on. If you really wanted to finish this book, you could have.”

And maybe you’re right. The whole reason I started this blog is because I wanted to bring life to these dreams of mine. I’m tired of settling or saying I can’t. If anything, my journey has taught me that I had have a choice. And that ability is incredibly empowering which is why this week I’ve found myself so determined to finish what I started. I’ve plugged through four of a twenty chapter book (20%), rereading, editing, fleshing out and bringing direction to the vibrant lives woven into this fantasy novel. Before I pick back up on Elli & Oliver, I want to bring peace to a series that’s been waiting ever so patiently for its true debut.

Once the manuscript finishes its first round of edits, I intend to make a tab for it here on the site. It will feature the prologue and first chapter, character bios, illustrations and fan art submitted back in the day. I haven’t decided whether or not I plan to self-publish or if I’ll dare the long and agonizing process of finding an agent. A lot of that will depend on what I feel is best for this little series.

But I will finish it. If merely for my own sake, I will hold this book in my hands and say, “I did it. I fulfilled my dream.”

I’ve proved myself worthy of publishing when I became a journalist. Now it’s time to take that confidence and do what I’ve always wanted to do. I will become an author.

UPDATE: September 2012, The Royal Rogue was published and remains available for purchase through your local, online, and e-book retailers!

14 thoughts on “Blog: I Will Become an Author

    • Hey Kathleen! Thank you so much. 🙂 And yeah, I don’t know what it is about blogging that’s really stepped up my writing, but I’ve been making a ton of progress since I started doing it.

  1. Congrats Elizabeth, it definitely takes courage torecognise when you’re selling yourself and your writing ability short, am really looking forawrd to seeing some more of the Gypsy Tales up online 🙂 C-C xx

  2. I also have a book I’ve been working on for many years, and I was sidetracked by life, too. But I’ve found that the length of time has added to the richness I can give to the story. When I first started writing my mom told me that I probably won’t be published for a while because good writers have to experience life first. I had no idea that what she spoke was a bit prophetic! Oh boy, did I experience life! lol But every ounce of it has found its way into my writing.

    From what I’ve read in your blog I think you are an amazing writer. I pray that God opens doors for you!

    • Aww, thanks friend! 🙂 And you’re so right. I’ve been noticing as I’ve been editing how life experience just enriches the story even more. What kind of book have you been writing?

      • My book is an inspirational romance, which started out as a category romance. So it has evolved as my faith has evolved. And I can’t wait to get it published, because I’m a little sick of it. lol I’ve lived and breathed this thing for about 10 years. Granted, I took a 5 year hiatus and I didn’t work on it constantly; I had other projects, but still…it’s been on my mind for a decade and I was working on it or thinking about it even when I wasn’t actively working on it. I’m sure I’ll go through withdrawal if it does finally get published 🙂

  3. Amazing blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?

    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a
    little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m totally confused .. Any tips? Many thanks!

    • Well the great thing about WordPress is that it automatically opens up a world of networking through other bloggers. In my opinion, it’s a great place to build your own blog/website that it interactive while also building a network.

      There’s no set formula though. You have to decide for yourself which is the best route for your work. Self-publishing? Traditional publishing? Either way, you want to network, meet people with the same interests as you and build relationships.

Leave a Reply

