Daily Post: Your Last Random Act of Kindness


Topic: What was your last random act of kindess?

            
I have heart-to-hearts with strangers. I guess they fall under random acts of kindness because it’s through a genuine desire to listen to what lies on the chest of another human being that makes these moments possible. My last moment was when I was on my lunch break. I slipped into the bathroom to wash my hands when I ran into this girl that seemed to be having a terrible day. I asked her if she was alright, and it slipped into a conversation about how her whole life had been turned upside down. All her eggs had been in one basket and when the person she was depending on bailed, it left her feeling lost.

 The eggs fell and broke. And with a courageous front she stood, with an empty basket, hoping to figure out a way to clean up the mess while keeping her heart intact.

I want to say listening to her story was a random act of kindness, but the truth is I wish I did more. I wish I took it a step further, handed her my number and said I work next door. That if she ever needed to talk to give me a call or step into my store.

 Compassion shouldn’t be a brave act. When I think about it, it seems silly that we as humans find it so hard to work up the courage to care. But we do. I’ll admit that it’s hard to walk up to a stranger and say, ‘how are you?’ and mean it. But we need these moments so badly in life. We need opportunities to take off our mask and say what we really feel, and to know it’s okay not to be okay sometimes.

I truly believe when we lead honest lives, we invite others to do the same. Those opportunities start with us, and within us. Perhaps by doing this acts of kindness would no longer be something random.

“Well it’s alright, doing the best you can. Well it’s alright, as long as you lend a hand.”
– End of the Line by Traveling Wilburys

Leave a Reply

