EXERCISE: A Post a Day… and Other Attempts at Discipline


Any writer can tell you how Time can be a terrible fiend. You can have beau coups of inspiration and prose, but other ‘life’ things often steal away the time we devote to our trade. It’s a curse that’s led to the tragic demise of many first (or next) bestsellers, and left many of us rustier than a broken down Buick.

I’ve been there. Between balancing a part-time job, freelance work, a blog, social life and a relationship, my true passion (novel writing) has fallen into the backseat of priorities. A book I should’ve finished years ago still sits on my desktop in the peak of its plotline waiting to see an end (My characters have probably died of suspense by now).

So here’s a challenge I’m taking up. I will aim to complete one chapter by Sunday of every week. To hold myself accountable I will be updating my blog every week as well on the progress of said book. So feel free to keep me in line if you don’t see them.

I’m also choosing to participate in another little writing project. I stumbled across it today. It’s called The Daily Post, and it provides topics every day for bloggers to write about. It’s a great way to keep your pen and your mind sharp, and you can do it daily or weekly.

The address is http://dailypost.wordpress.com. If you end up participating, let me know! I’d love to see what other people are writing about.

-Elli

3 thoughts on “EXERCISE: A Post a Day… and Other Attempts at Discipline

  1. It’s always great to have support, too. I’m helping my boyfriend begin his writing career, and it empowers me to continue my own dream of a professional career in writing, as well. I look forward to reading your posts, and supporting your dream. From the look of it, you’ve already gained quite a bit of experience, which I aim to have one day too. Take care!

    • Thanks! 🙂 The chapter a week goal is a bit intimidating for me, but I recently came to the conclusion that I need to push myself if I ever want to finish what I started. I’m hoping this’ll get me moving in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

